Running for Office

Offices to be elected April 7, 2020: 
  • District 2 Alderperson (Incumbent: Rick Tortomasi)
  • District 4 Alderperson (Incumbent: Kurt Larsen, term-limited)
  • District 6 Alderperson (Incumbent: Tim Raether, term-limited)
  • District 8 Alderperson (Incumbent: Bill Maron, term-limited)
All of the above are two year terms beginning April 21, 2020 and ending April 19, 2022.  If a primary is required for any of the offices above, it will be held February 18, 2020.

Aldermanic District Map

Eligibility for office:
  • At least 18 years of age
  • Must not have been convicted of a felony for which the person has not been pardoned
  • Must be a resident of the City of Watertown (candidates for Alderperson must reside in the district for which they are running)

Ballot Access Documents

  • Campaign Registration Statement - Form CF-1.  File with City Clerk when candidacy is announced before circulating nomination papers or receiving/spending campaign funds.  For further information on campaign finance, please visit the WI Ethics Commission web site
  • Declaration of Candidacy - Form EL-162.  File with City Clerk.  May be filed with the CF-1 but not later than 5 p.m. on January 7, 2020.
  • Nomination Papers - Form EL-169.  First day to collect signatures is December 1, 2019.  Nomination papers must be submitted to City Clerk no later than 5 p.m. on January 7, 2020.  Candidates for Alderperson must collect 20-40 signatures of qualified electors in their district.
  • Incumbents not seeking re-election: file Notification of Noncandidacy Form EL-163 by 5 p.m. on December 27, 2019.
  • Paper copies of all of required forms are available in the Office of the City Clerk, 106 Jones Street, Watertown, WI 53094.
For more information please contact City Clerk/Treasurer, Elissa Friedl at 920-262-4007.